Play Everything

There have been a few articles lately, comparing the amount of time spent outside each day by schoolchildren and prison inmates.  The results are…  depressing.  It’s a travesty that children are spending their days locked inside, with their faces held to the grinding stone of endless stupid worksheets.  I usually try to be more gentle in my tone when writing online, but honestly.  This is insane, and if we were hanging out in person you’d be treated to my full routine of militant soapbox ranting.

Instead, here’s another question with an equally depressing answer:  When children are allowed outside during the school day, what sort of places can they go?  I’ve been asking this in workshops for awhile now, to designers and teachers and everyone else who would rather be looking at adorable pictures of adventure playgrounds (they get those too, but the contrast is important).

I show this slide.

Yards

These…

View original post 342 more words

